Green Day- From the 90s to Now

Green Day has been a band everyone knows about since the 90s but what they’re known for is often a subject of controversy, especially amongst the fan base. Their first album, Kerplunk is enjoyable and much more raw and unfiltered than their modern sound, a key element to the punk genre. While I call that punk its important to note that not all Green Day is punk, but some is (a topic many punk fans get riled up over). I’d say that someone is flat out wrong in calling songs like Platypus (I Hate You) and Take Back not punk, but at the same time songs like Redundant or the (in)famous Good Riddance, are clearly in the alternative rock section.  When Dookie came out, landing them many a few hits like When I Come Around, Longview, and Basket Case growing their popularity even more, partly off of the recent record deal they made from the underground success of Kerplunk. This record deal was met with significant controversy, the original club they performed in banned them, and many fans accused them of selling out. Regardless, the show went on, and the next to albums were not met as successfully as the previous, despite being large hits too fans. Fortunately, 2004 was met with political turmoil, and with political turmoil comes statements, something Green Day went all out with in the bands largest success the rock opera American Idiot. The whole album was great; it deviated from their previous sound but remained unique to them. The guitars and recording quality were at a high, and every note is intentional and elemental to each song. A rhythm guitar was added on top of the lead, something that wasn’t too common  in the past recordings, but it allowed much freer guitar riffs and solos without seeming out of place or empty. Following American Idiot, was 21st Century Breakdown, another rock opera based on a Bonnie and Clyde type couple. The hit single. 21 Guns, put their name on the map again, while retaining a very similar sound to American Idiot, perhaps with more instrumental Variation- namely the piano. I remember the post 21st Century Breakdown period very well as I was very excited to see what would come out next. After a live album title Awesome As Fuck I heard the news I couldn’t have been happier to hear: Green Day was preparing to release not one, but three albums almost consecutively (I believe it even set a record). When the day came around I couldn’t have been more disappointed. I remember first listening to the songs on an airplane, excited to hear what song will be my new favorite. My disappointment grew as each albums track listing went closer to the bottom, with no success in sight. At the end of the three albums produced, there were two that I still have saved on spotify , a terribly grim mortality rate for not one but 3 albums. What made these songs suck? Its very simple: they abandoned their sound completely and moved to what sounded like pop music with a wedged in guitar. It wasn’t awfully produced, but every song sounded similar and I felt like I was being brainwashed more than I was listening to music. The band was quiet for a while, leaving their fanbase disgruntled and nervous. I hoped they would go back to their earlier sound, not some kind of pop rock coupon deal. With what felt like ages later, the song Bang Bang was released bringing back the political themes of American Idiot but with the sound and distortion of the trio albums. It wasn’t awful, and I eagerly awaited what was next. The album was eventually revealed as Revolution Radio and was enjoyable- not their best but not their worst. I was satisfied and was left wanting more. The following song titled Back in the USA again brought political themes and featured a somewhat comedic music video referencing the film They Live. The song was exciting and sounded like it could have come off the 21st Century Breakdown era, and once again I’m left excited and waiting for more.

Image result for green dayImage result for green day

Now with all this being said, the biggest surprise of all to me is not the band’s shift in tone, or the change in lyrical themes, but a much more unique and somewhat wholesome touch: they’re still together. The band originated as three guys in high school having fun, and it is pretty much the same today, albeit not high schoolers. In an interview, Green Day was asked what keeps the band together so well, with which the eccentric drummer Tre Cool responded with “Semen.” I don’t know what goes on in the tour bus, but as long as they keep up their good work, I don’t care.


Leave a comment